Europe will remain closed to travelers for a while if the journey is not essential. European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen made this proposal to the leaders of G7, the four largest European economies plus Canada, Japan and the United States. This in connection with the coronavirus and to prevent its further spread. Originally, the entry ban to the European Union apply until April 18, this has been extended until May 15. 

The Netherlands closed its borders on March 19 for citizens from outside the European Union, other Member States also closed their borders with the exception of Ireland. Some exceptions have been made, these apply to people with a residence permit, residence card, or visa, for trade routes, for EU citizens and their families, for truck drivers, for medical staff, for frontier workers, for diplomats, for certain researchers, for people from Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and their family members. 

unnecessary travel 

It is a curtailment for all unnecessary travel of persons from third countries to Europe (all EU Member States, all members of Schengen and the UK) with the aim of preventing the spread of the COVID19 virus. This means that persons who do not fall under the following exceptional position will not enter the Netherlands.

The travel ban only applies to people, freight transport must continue as unimpeded as possible. Furthermore, an exception is made for EU nationals who come home, for medical staff, border workers and for example


The Schengen area is a collaboration of 26 European member states that have a common border and visa policy, we call these countries Schengen countries of Schengen states. The Member States are therefore bound by the same visa rules, which are laid down in the Common Visa Code, EU Regulation 810/2009 / EC. 

Also read: Oktoberfest 2020 and Gäuboden folk festival are canceled

Ursula Von Der Leyen
also available for iOS
Print Friendly, PDF & Email